Here you can find latest news about Ilosaarirock Festival.

13th Feb 2019

Over 20 new artists!

New names include Sunrise Avenue, Alma, Jess Glynne, Architects, Perturbator, MONO and Pale Waves. Now you can purchase all the ticket types from day tickets to Premium tickets.

The biggest rock band from Finland, Sunrise Avenue, is coming to Ilosaarirock Festival for the first time ever! The hugely popular combo regularly perform at sold-out stadium venues across Europe, but are rarely seen playing in Finland. The Ilosaarirock gig is the only festival show Sunrise Avenue will perform in Finland during summer 2019. Another expected visitor is Finland’s hottest export since the Nokia phone, aka Alma. The international pop sensation, known for her explosive hits Karma, Dye My Hair and Chasing Highs, will bring her unapologetic live show to Joensuu, just a couple of months after the release of her debut album.

Grammy-awarded singer-songwriter Jess Glynne has released only two albums during her years in the spotlight but has already achieved seven No. 1 singles in the British charts - more than any other female artist in history. Glynne mixes classic soul with catchy pop melodies and delivers songs with her incredible voice.

Architects, the eminent British metalcore combo, are finally coming to Finland after a painstakingly long wait. Winners of the Best British Live Act Award, Architects play their raspingly furious music with mathematical precision. Their eighth album Holy Hell, released in 2018, shot up the charts like a bullet, and was chosen as the album of the year by many heavy metal critics.

Cheat Codes are comprised of three talented DJs from Los Angeles, who are on a journey to stardom after wowing crowds with one EDM hit after another. Cheat Codes released their debut single in 2015 and have been moving people on dance floors ever since.

Synthwave pioneer Perturbator went on to create a whole new genre of music that draws its inspiration from cyberpunk, 80s video games and science fiction. His music transports listeners to a Blade Runner-like world and dance floors at sold-out gigs are heaving with a curious mixture of morose metal heads, electro-industrially-minded dance enthusiasts and cyborged computer nerds.

Hailing from Manchester, the Mecca of modern indie music, Pale Waves released their debut album, My Mind Makes Noises, in September 2018 and instantly caused a stir in the global music scene. This summer they are bringing their world tour to Finland for the first time, and visitors to Ilosaarirock will get a taste of Pale Waves and their soul-soothing melodies.

For decades, MONO has been at the forefront of the post-rock scene and enjoyed the unconditional appreciation of both critics and fans. In 2019 MONO are celebrating their 20th anniversary, and have just released their 10th album Nowhere Now Here. The new album is even more self-assured and ambitious than its predecessors and can be described as a journey in experimentation and texture.

New Finnish acts include special shows by singer-songwriter Samuli Putro and hard rockers Viikate and JVG, Ellips, Pariisin Kevät, Pää Kii, Swallow the Sun, Henrik!, J. Karjalainen, Lxandra, Olavi Uusivirta, Ricky-Tick Big Band & Julkinen Sana, Gasellit, Jukka Nousiainen, Kynnet, Pauliina Kokkonen, SANNI and Stam1na.

More news coming soon!

20th Dec 2018

First artists announced

First part of the 2019 line-up includes DJ Snake, Rae Sremmurd, Shame, Ville Valo & Agents, Vesala, Kingston Wall and Anna Puu.

DJ Snake is a French superstar DJ who mixes hip hop and electronic music in a trademark visionary style. One of the most popular producers and composers in the world, he belongs to the global electro-elite. He burst onto the international scene with the mega hit ‘Lean On’ that was produced together with Major Lazer and MØ. ‘Lean On’ subsequently became the most streamed song on Spotify, ever.

Rae Sremmurd shot to number one in the charts in the US, and across the globe, with their hit single ‘Black Beatles’ featuring Gucci Mane. Each of their three albums boast platinum-awarded singles such as ‘Swang’, ‘Powerglide’ and ‘No Type’. With such a whopping setlist, a Rae Sremmurd show is bound to be pure dynamite.

When Shame released their debut album in 2018, they took the alternative rock scene by storm and were labelled ‘Britain’s most exciting new band’ by the Guardian. Hailing from London, Shame is a volatile combination of quintessential British punk rock and scrappy post punk that brings Killing Joke and The Fall to mind.

Ville Valo, who shot to fame as the lead vocalist of internationally renowned rock band, HIM, has teamed up with Agents, a legendary Finnish band from the late 70s. Ville Valo & Agents have recorded an album full of hits and previously unsung pieces written by the late Rauli ‘Badding’ Somerjoki. The album has turned out to be one of the most talked about musical events of the year, long before its release.

Vesala is a highly talented artist with a rare gift of being able to combine entertaining pop rock with intelligent and thought-provoking lyrics. Her tunes, which are laced with electronic elements, are catchy and fun but could never be described as trivial – there is always meaning to be found in these well-crafted songs.

Kingston Wall by JJylli, Kuoppis & VHB is a ressurrection of the legendary Finnish prog band Kingston Wall with the help of the hottest trio from the Finnish prog rock scene – Von Hertzen Brothers.

Anna Puu is known for her exceptionally bright and radiant stage presence. With this masterstroke of a new album, she has created a collection of future pop classics and is primed to blow away festival audiences across the country.

Spring tickets on sale

One day, two day and three day tickets as well as Premium tickets are now on sale. Get your tickets before it's too late!

Buy tickets >


Main partner