Ruusut (FIN)


Ruusut have set themselves the ambitious goal of reimagining electronic pop music, making them one of the more interesting acts in the Finnish music scene today. The band released their debut album in the autumn of 2018, and instantly captivated the hearts of music lovers with their bewildering tunes that verge on the psychedelic. Although Ruusut are essentially a pop band, their songs are often like pieces of art that provoke and challenge: As soon as you think you’re beginning to understand what it’s all about, you get another musical slap on the face... which can only be a good thing, right?!

Winners of the YleX Breakthrough Prize of 2019, Ruusut are a musical supergroup whose members Miikka Koivisto, Ringa Manner, Samuli Kukkola and Alpo Nummelin are all known for their input in other successful Finnish bands. Ever since their last visit to Joensuu, Ilosaarirock guests have repeatedly asked us to include Ruusut in the festival programme again. Hence, it is our absolute pleasure to announce that this all-star league will indeed be back this July.

Life can be wonderful sometimes, especially when the opportunity to deliver such fantastic news comes along.

>    > 

< Back to line-up

Friday 17 Jul: ApulantaBattle Beast • BEHM • GettomasaHighly Suspect (USA) • The Holy • Lauri TähkäLost Frequencies (BEL)Of Monsters and Men (ISL)RuusutRäjäyttäjät • Yeboyah • Saturday 18 Jul: ABREU • Antti TuiskuBelzebubs • costee • EllinooraInsomnium • Jesse Markin • Lost Society • Machine Gun Kelly (USA)Mayhem (NOR) • MC KOO • PalefaceVesalaXysmaYungblud (UK)Sunday 19 Jul: Amorphis • Gasellit • The HU (MNG) • JVG • Karina • Knipi • LähiöbotoxMaustetytöt • Mouhous • PyhimysSam Fender (UK)TehosekoitinTones and I (AUS)