June 13th, 2007
Contact: Tiina Sotkasiira (

Ilosaarirock festival has been sold out — again!

The Ilosaarirock Festival which is held this year on 13th – 15th of July in Joensuu, Finland has been sold out. The festival has been sold out in advance for the past decade. This year, however, the 21 000 tickets were sold out in record time. This proves that the headliners, including HIM (FIN) Calexico (USA), The Cinematic Orchestra (UK), Porcupine Tree (UK) and Opeth (SWE) attract the Finnish audience. As more tickets than ever have been sold abroad to countries, such as USA, Norway, Great Britain, Japan, Germany and Ukraina, it goes to show that also many Finnish bands are making it big internationally.

No tickets will be sold at the festival gates on the day of event. However, there are still tickets available for the club concerts around the Festival. Also, the media accreditation for Ilosaarirock 2007 closes soon, so act quick. More info on accrediation available from


Started in 1971, Ilosaarirock is one of the biggest rock festivals in Finland. Among the music enthusiasts it has established a unique reputation for combining a relaxed ambience, musical determination and professional dedication. Each year, some 100 bands play at the Festival's five stages & interesting clubs. This year the festival is held 13.–15.7. Ilosaarirock is a member of YOUROPE — the European Festival Association.

Ilosaarirock line-up

Anthony B (JAM), Calexico (USA), CunninLynguists (USA), Porcupine Tree (UK), Stonegard (NOR), Terror (USA), Us3 (UK), Vavamuffin (POL), The Business (UK), The Cinematic Orchestra (UK), Opeth (SWE), RJD2 (USA), Sick of It All (USA), The Slackers (USA), Soilwork (SWE). Finnish acts: HIM, Disco Ensemble, Abduktio, Happoradio, Hidria Spacefolk, Husky Rescue, Insomnium, Kakka-hätä 77, Kemmuru, Klaus Thunder & Ukkosmaine, Maj Karma, The Odorants, Puppa J & Tasottavat, PMMP, Rubik, Sara, Sonata Arctica, Suhinators, Ville Leinonen & Chrisse Forever Band, Aiyekooto and His Afrobeat International, Dalindèo, Emma Salokoski Ensemble, Fat Beat Sound System, Journeymen, Lännen-Jukka, Magenta Skycode, Maria Gasolina, Nieminen & Litmanen, Risto, Scorngrain, Tiktak, Tundramatiks, Valse Triste, Vihreä maa, Viikate, Apulanta, CMX, Damn Seagulls, Ismo Alanko Teholla, Lapko Jarkko Martikainen, The Ruby Foos, Stella, Tohtori Orff & Herra Dalcroze, Aivolävistys, Armageddon Clock, Down My Throat, Flippin' Beans, Goon, No Shame, Relentless, Unkind, Wasted, Våld, Amorphis, Decended, Finntroll, Impaled Nazarene, Flies Around the Light, Tuomo, The Valkyrians and Von Hertzen Brothers.

The schedule:

< back

Joensuun Popmuusikot ry, PL 240, 80101 Joensuu —